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IN THE 15TH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, SALINE COUNTY, MISSOURI 
 
 

Judge or Division: 
 

Case Number: 
 

(Date File Stamp) 

Petitioner(s): 
 
 

vs. 

Garnishment Number: 

 

 

Respondent(s): 
 

Judgment Debtor’s Claim for Exemption 

I, ______________________________________________, of lawful age, state that I am the Judgment Debtor in the 
above entitled action in which judgment has been rendered against me, and that a garnishment in aid of execution 
has been issued against ____________________________________; I further state that I am a resident of the state 
of Missouri. 
 

 WAGES: This affidavit is made for the purpose of obtaining a release of ninety percent (90%) of all wages due and 
owing to me from my employer, as provided by statute. I further state that I am the head of a family (contributing 
substantial support of my spouse and/or dependents) and under the laws of the state of Missouri I am entitled to a 
head of family exemption from garnishment of wages. 
 
Ninety percent (90%) release does not apply to withholdings for child support, maintenance, taxes plus 
accumulated interest. 

 
 BANK ACCOUNT OR OTHER FINANCIAL INSTITUTION: I am the head of family and I have ___________ 
unmarried dependent children under the age of 21 years, and this affidavit is made for the purpose of obtaining a 
release of property exempt from execution as provided by law. 
 

I further state that the sum of $_______________ in my account at ________________________________________ 
can be withdrawn by me and consists of the following exempt funds: 
 

 Social Security Benefits   Disability  Veteran Benefits 

 Unemployment Compensation   Local Public Assistance Benefit 
 

 Any other property of any kind not to exceed in value six hundred dollars ($600.00) in the aggregate. 
List:   

 
 OTHER: _  

 
 
I swear/affirm under penalty of perjury that these facts are true according to my best knowledge and belief. 
 
 

 
    

Date Signature 
 

  
Address 
 

  
City, State, Zip 
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INSTRUCTIONS 

 

FOR THIS EXEMPTION TO TAKE EFFECT, IT: 

1. MUST BE FILED WITH THE CIRCUIT COURT ISSUING THE WRIT OF GARNISHMENT, 

2. SERVED UPON YOUR EMPLOYER, AND  

3. MAILED TO THE GARNISHOR. 

Garnishments are issued by a clerk or judge to collect a debt that is based on a court judgment against 
you. Wage garnishments are served by the Sheriff on your employer, who is responsible for taking a certain 
amount of money out of your pay. 

If you are supporting a spouse, a dependent child under the age of twenty-one (21), or a dependent child 
who is deemed disabled by the Social Security Administration, you may be entitled to a head of family 
exemption from a garnishment. Under sections 513.440 and 525.030.1, RSMo, persons who are eligible for 
this exemption can limit the amount taken out of their pay. 

If you qualify for a head of family exemption and the debt owed is not for the support of another person, 
ten percent (10%) of your disposable earnings may be withheld from your wages. See sections 513.440 and 
525.030.1, RSMo. “Disposable earnings” is defined as your pay minus any required deductions. Required 
deductions are federal, state, and local taxes and withholdings for Medicare and social security. 

If you qualify for the head of family exemption and the debt owed is for the support of another person, fifty 
percent (50%) of your disposable earnings may be withheld from your wages. However, this amount can 
increase to fifty-five percent (55%) if the debt is for past-due support. See 15 U.S.C. 1673 (b)(2). Usually, 
debts of this kind are for child support or maintenance. 

To claim the head of family exemption, you must complete the affidavit on page one. Return the 
completed affidavit to your employer for computing the garnishment percentage. 

NOTE: When you receive notice of a garnishment, you should immediately check with your employer. If 
your employer is already taking out the correct amount from your pay, you may not need to file this 
affidavit. 

 
If you have any questions about your rights regarding the garnishment, you should speak with an attorney. 

 
Notice to Sheriff’s Department – This is the standard form to be used in all Garnishment cases.  


